Anti-Fracking Albany Rally – State of State Address

Join Us for a Rally to Stop Fracking in NY at Governor Cuomo’s State of the State Address

from http://nyagainstfracking.org/

ITHACA & BINGHAMTON AREA — Stay Tuned for Shaleshock Bus Info ($20 p/seat & scholarships available)

The New Yorkers Against Fracking coalition is calling on all New Yorkers to come to Albany for a rally to keep fracking out of our beloved state. We will take our message right to the Governor as we gather outside the annual State of the State Address, delivered by Andrew Cuomo. We’ve never needed your voices more than now. Just last week, the Department of Environmental Conservation took the reckless step of releasing draft rules and regulations that would sanction the process of fracking in New York State, thus setting the clock ticking on a decision-making process that, absent our intervention, could lead to permits in early 2013. Never mind that the environmental impact statement (sGEIS) that is supposed to serve as a scientific foundation of those regulations has not been released to the public. Never mind that the unfinished health “review” that is supposed to sit at the heart of the sGEIS is shrouded in secrecy. Never mind that the work of the health study is being carried out by three outside experts who are contracted for a mere 25 hours–three days–of their time. Never mind that Governor Cuomo said NO to New York’s own physicians and scientists who have demanded a transparent, comprehensive health impact assessment. Let’s tell the Governor that everything about this process is wrong: it is backward, undemocratic, hasty, and irrational. A secret, 25-hour health review? Shockingly inadequate. An industry-influenced sGEIS? Fatally flawed. And cart-before-the-horse rulemaking? Un-fracking-believable. At last year’s state of the state address, hundreds of us came to Albany in the first week of the new year and spoke out for an unfractured future for New York. This year, let’s pack the halls of power once again to let the Governor know that New Yorkers from every corner and region of the state are against fracking and against the sneaky process that is bringing it to our doorsteps. The New Yorkers Against Fracking coalition, its member organizations and friends of the coalition are organizing carpools, vans and buses to Albany. Please sign up here if you are interested in attending and/or joining a carpool, van or bus. Organizers in your region will be in touch with carpool, van or bus info. What: Rally to Stop Fracking in NY at the State of the State Address When: Wednesday, January 9th, 2013 Time: TBA – plan to leave in the morning Where: Empire State Plaza (tentative location: Concourse hallway near the entrance to The Egg), Albany, NY For more info on New Yorkers Against Fracking go to http://www.nyagainstfracking.org FOR MORE INFORMATION IN THE
FOLLOWING REGIONS CONTACT:
Capital District Daniel Morrissey at daniel@nyagainstfracking.org
Hudson Valley Forest Cotten at forest@nyagainstfracking.org or Kathy Nolan at kathy@catskillmountainkeeper.org
Westchester Betta Broad at betta@frackaction.com
New York City David Braun at david@nyagainstfracking.org, Corinne Rosen at crosen@fwwatch.org
Long Island Eric Weltman at eweltman@fwwatch.org
Southern Tier Isaac Silberman-Gorn at i.silbermangorn@gmail.com
Central New York Renee Vogelsang at renee@frackaction.com
Finger Lakes Renee Vogelsang at renee@frackaction.com
Rochester Zora Gussow at zora@nyagainstfracking.org
Buffalo Rita Yelda at ryelda@fwwatch.org